
What if someone other than a 
bank buys at foreclosure?  

 
If a private person or investor—not a 
bank—buys your building at foreclosure, 
the Just Cause Eviction Law does not 
protect you. But you still have rights. 

New owners after foreclosure must give 
most tenants at least a 30-day notice to 
quit before serving court eviction papers. 
New owners must honor leases you made 
with the former owner. 

New owners are also responsible for 
maintenance and making repairs to your 
apartment.   

If the new owner is not a bank it does not 
need just cause to evict you. But you still 
have the right to a court hearing where you 
can defend against the eviction.  
 

More resources 
 
The Just Cause Eviction Law went into 
effect on July 8, 2014.  You can get a copy 
of this new law on the Internet at:  
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/PublicLaws/
law14/law14513.htm  
 
To get involved with community efforts to 
address issues facing tenants who live in 
foreclosed properties contact: 
 
Direct Action for Rights & Equality 

340 Lockwood Street 

Providence RI 02907 

(401) 351-6960 

 

Important 
This is only a summary of tenants’ rights 
after foreclosure under the Just Cause 
Eviction Law. For complete information 
contact Rhode Island Legal Services. 

 

Providence:      

 56 Pine Street, 4th Floor    
Providence, RI 02903 
(401) 274-2652 
(800) 662-5034 
 

 Newport:  

50 Washington Square 
 Newport, RI 02840 
 (401) 846-2264 
 (800) 637-4529 
 
   
  

 

GET PROTECTED 
FROM EVICTION: 

SEND THE FORM 
BACK TO THE BANK 

 

RHODE ISLAND’S 
NEW JUST CAUSE 

EVICTION LAW 

 

TENANTS NOW HAVE 

RIGHTS AFTER A 

FORECLOSURE 
The new Rhode Island Just Cause Eviction 
Law protects most tenants from eviction 
who live in bank-owned 1-4 unit foreclosed 
properties. In most cases, the bank 
cannot evict you or make you leave in 
any other way, unless it has just cause. 
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The Just Cause Eviction Law 
protects most tenants who live in 
foreclosed properties containing 
four or fewer apartments. 
 
The Just Cause Eviction Law only protects 
bona fide tenants.  You are most likely a 
bona fide tenant if: 

 You moved into the property before 
the foreclosure sale; AND 

 You are not the former owner of the 
property nor the child, parent, or 
spouse of the former owner. 

Protection against eviction is not 
automatic: the bank must provide 
you with a form to fill out and 
return within 30 days. 

o Be on the lookout for this form which 
must be: 

o Posted in a prominent location 
in your building; 

o Sent in the mail; AND 
o Placed under your door. 

o The form will ask you to provide some 
personal information and authorize 
the bank to run a credit check on you 
(but you will not have to pass a credit 
check to be protected by the law). 

o Fill out the form and send it back right 
away if you want to stay and not be 
evicted (be sure to keep a copy of the 
filled out form). 
 

If you fill out and send back the 
form within 30 days, you can only 
be evicted for just cause.   

 
What happens if you do not return 
the form? 

If you fail to return the form you will not be 
protected by the Just Cause Eviction Law.  
Therefore, the foreclosing bank will NOT 
need a reason to evict you.  However, the 
bank must still send you a written eviction 
notice and take you to court if you do not 
move out voluntarily.   

If you return the form within 30 
days the bank cannot evict you 
without “just cause.” 

If you are a bona fide tenant, the bank 
cannot evict you unless it has a good 
reason (just cause). 

What are examples of “just 
cause?” 

The reasons that a bank can evict a tenant 
after a foreclosure under the Just Cause 
Eviction Law include:  

 Not paying rent; 

 Disturbing other residents; 

 Creating a nuisance; 

 Not allowing landlord in to make 
repairs.  

A bank cannot evict you solely because it 
wants you to leave. Wanting an empty 
building is not just cause under the new 
law. 

The Just Cause Eviction Law also 
says: 

 If you are a bona fide tenant you can 
stay in your building while the bank 
owns it, unless the bank has just cause 
to evict. 

 However, the just cause protection 
ends when the bank has a signed 
contract to sell the property to someone 
who is not connected to the bank.   

 The bank cannot pressure you into 
leaving, but nothing prevents you from 
leaving voluntarily (such as accepting a 
“cash for keys” agreement.) 

 If the foreclosing bank is a Rhode 
Island based bank the Just Cause Law 
does not apply. 

Within 30 days of the foreclosure 
sale, the bank must also provide 
tenants with: 

 The name, address and telephone 
number of the person or company 
responsible for managing the building. 

 The address to which rent payments 
shall be sent. 
 

The bank must repair and 
maintain the property. 

After foreclosure the bank becomes your 
new landlord. Like all landlords it must 
repair and keep the property in safe and 
decent condition, even if you do not return 
the form to be protected from eviction by 
the Just Cause Eviction Law. 


